Tall Ships America

Annual Sail Training Awards

Each year at the Annual Conference of Sail Training and Tall Ships, Tall Ships America honors a seclect group of sail trainers and supporters who have been recognized by their peers and fellow sail trainers for their outstanding contributions to the world of sail Training.

The annual award recipients are nominated by the membership of Tall Ships America and the final winners selected by the Board of Directors and staff.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Awarded to an individual who has dedicated his/her life's work to getting people to sea under sail and who has worked to preserve the traditions and skills of sail training.
2016 Eben Whitcomb, Jr.
2015 Captain Daniel Moreland
2014 Alix Thorne
2013 Nancy Richardson
2013 Captain James Wehan
2012 Captain Jan Miles
2011 Captain George Moffett
2010 Captain James Gladson
2009 Captain Jonathan "JB" Smith
2008 Captain Walter Rybka
2008 Captain Karl Mehrer
2007 Captain Joe Maggio
2006 Beth Bonds
2006 Captain David Hiott IV
2005 CAPT David V. V. Wood, USCG (Ret.)
2004 Rafe Parker
2003 Francis MacLachan
2002 Karl Dillman
2001 Captain Lane Briggs
2000 Exy Johnson
2000 VADM Thomas R. Weschler USN (Ret.)
1999 Captain George Glasier
1999 Ward Cleveland
1998 Ernestine Bennett
1998 Henry H. Anderson, Jr.
1997 (not awarded)
1996 Captain Arthur Kimberly
1995 Biff Bowker
1994 (not awarded)
Sail Trainer of the Year
Awarded to a member of Tall Ships America who has made a significant contribution to sail training through the demonstration of leadership by means of empowerment and inspiration.
2016 CAPT Matthew Meilstrup, USCG
2015 Captain John Eginton
2014 Captain Aaron Singh
2013 CAPT Wes Pulver, USCG
2012 Captain Deborah Hayes
2011 CAPT Eric Jones, USCG
2010 Captain Wesley Heerssen
2009 Meghan Wren Briggs
2008 CAPT Chris Sinnett, USCG
2007 Captain Ken Neal
2006 Captain Walter Rybka
2005 Captain Tim Pyron
2004 Terry Davies
2003 Captain Jan Miles
2002 Captain Peg Brandon
2001 Captain Bob Hodgson
2000 Captain George Moffett
1999 Captain Dan Moreland
1998 Captain Alice Moore Robinson
1997 Captain Richard Bailey
1996 Captain Christopher Rowsom
1995 CAPT David V. V. Wood, USCG (Ret.)
1994 Captain Walter Rybka
Sail Training Program of the Year
Awarded to a current Tall Ships America member program that significanly contributes to the development of seamanship, navigation skills, teamwork, and leadership skills.  The program must be offered aboard a USCG (or national equivalent) inspected vessel, must be offered by certified/qualified personnel, must have clear training goals and a curriculum which is compatible to the Tall Ships America sail training logbook and must offer students the opportunity to demonstrate knowledge at sea by participating as active trainees in the running of the vessel.
2016 Marimed, MAKANI OLU
2015 US Brig NIAGARA
2014 South Street Seaport Museum/LETTIE G. HOWARD
2013 Catalina Island Marine Institute (CIMI) Tall Ship Expeditions aboard the Tole Mour
2012 Schooner PIONEER at South Street Seaport Museum
2011 Ocean Classroom Foundation
2010 US Brig NIAGARA
2009 Maine Maritime Academy / BOWDOIN
2008 LYNX
2004 Ocean Classroom Foundation
2003 (not awarded)
1999 Sea Explorer Program
1998 SALTS
Sea Education Program of the Year
Awarded to a program offered by a current member of Tall Ships America which has significantly contributed to the educational credibility of programs under sail.  The program must be offered in conjunction with a school, school system, school group or other recognized educational institution, must have a clear curriculum of educational goals which are compatible with curriculum goals of traditional schools and must have qualified instructors on a certified vessel.
2016 “Celebrating our Rivers”Place-based Learning Onboard the Floating Classroom PISCATAQUA
2015 "Young Men and Women at the Helm" aboard the Sloop CLEARWATER
2014 Sea Education Association’s Sea Semester®: The Global Ocean
2013 Maritime Museum of San Diego
2012 Sound Experience aboard the Schooner ADVENTURESS
2011 Sea/mester
2010 Sea Education Association (SEA)
2009 Sultana Projects / Sultana
2008 Class Afloat
2007 Explorer Program aboard ALMA
2006 Tall Ship Semester for Girls
2005 Bayshore Discovery Project and the A J MEERWALD
2004 New York City Harbor School and the LETTIE G HOWARD
2003 (not awarded)
2002 BaySail's Environmental Education Program aboard the APPLEDORE IV
2001 Inland Seas Education Association's Great Lakes Schoolship Program
2000 Class Afloat aboard CONCORDIA
1999 Tall Ship Semester for Girls
1998 Harvey Gamage Foundation
1997 South Street Seaport Museum
1996 Orange County Marine Institute
1995 Living Classroom Foundation
1994 Sea Education Association (SEA)
Volunteer of the Year
Awarded to an individual member of Tall Ships America who has significantly advanced our overall mission
2016 Michael Langley
2015 Marc Jensen
2014 Rachael Miller
2013 Captain Rick Miller
2012 Roberta Kacenjar
2011 Captain Deborah Hayes
2010 Captain Jonathan Boulware and Captain Jonathan Kabak (J2)
2009 Claudia Bankert
2008 (not awarded)
2007 Ron Tasker
2006 Hal Barstow
2005 Richard "Rusty" Rice
2004 Cathy Spencer
2003 Chuck Fowler
2002 Nancy Richardson
2001 Hisakazu Nakayama
2000 Alison Healy
1999 Thad Koza, Billy Black, Roger Archibald
1998 Graeme Smith
1997 Gregg Swanzey
1996 Tom Gochberg
1995 Nick Fairhurst
1994 Bob Walker
Port City of the Year
Awarded to a city which has demonstrated significant support of Tall Ships America or a member organization of Tall Ships America and who has furthered public recognition of sail training
2015 Greenport, New York
2014 Dana Point, California
2013 Bay City, Michigan
2012 Halifax, Nova Scotia
2011 Oxnard, CA
2010 Chicago, Illinois
2009 Boston, Massachusetts
2008 Tacoma, Washington
2007 Norfolk, Virginia
2006 Bay City, Michigan
2005 Tacoma, Washington
2004 Halifax, Nova Scotia
2003 Chicago. Illinois
2002 Richmond, British Columbia
2001 Bay City, Michigan
2000 Charleston, South Carolina
1999 Lunenburg, Nova Scotia
1998 South Haven, Michigan
1997 Los Angeles, California
1996 (not awarded)
1995 Mystic Seaport, Mystic, Connecticut
1994 (not awarded)
Special Recognition Awards
2016 CAPT. Eric Shaw, USCG (ret.)
2015 Gene McKeever
2013 Patricia "Patti" Lock
2012 Michael J. Rauworth
2011 Thaddeus J. Koza
2008 Henry H. Anderson, Jr.
2008 Bart Dunbar, Perry Lewis, Captain Joe Davis, Dr. Robin Wallace
2006 Don Treworgy
2005 Steve Baker, Lori Aguiar
2004 Steve Luthultz
2003 NINA
2002 Toronto Brigantines
2001 CAPT David V. V. Wood, USCG (Ret.)
1998 Captain Walter Rybka, Nancy Richardson
1997 James L. Kerr
1994 Nick Horvath
Allen Insurance and Financial Award for Safety
2012 Coast Guard Sector North Carolina Command Center and Air Station Elizabeth City
2010 Captain John Beebe-Center and Captain Bill Curry
Tall Ships America • 221 3rd St., Bldg. 2, Ste. 101• Newport, RI 02840 USA • (401) 846-1775 • asta@tallshipsamerica.org